Who Will Be Powerball’s First Millionaire of the Year for 2023?

The ‘Powerball First Millionaire of the Year’ promotion will see a player bring in 2023 in the grandest of styles by winning $1 million live on television.

Lottery Logo
Next Powerball Jackpot
$34 Million
  • 0d
  • 0h
  • 0m
  • 0s

There are 30 jurisdictions taking part in the promotion, which is now in its fourth year after initially launching just minutes into 2020.

The participating lotteries are: Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana (Hoosier), Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, New Mexico, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virgin Islands, Virginia, Washington D.C., West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

How it Works

Each participating lottery will hold its own set of drawings to determine its own state winner(s). These will be the national semi-finalists and each contest will work differently.

In Mississippi, for example, players have had to sign up to be a Lottery Insider and fill out an entry form. A draw will take place on October 3rd to give away multiple prizes, starting from $1,000. The Mississippi winner will receive an expenses-paid trip to New York for two at a New York hotel.

A set of finalists will be picked at random from across the participating states, with each one in the final draw to become the first Powerball millionaire of the year.

The final draw will take place minutes after midnight and be broadcast during the TV special ‘Dick Clark's New Year’s Rockin' Eve with Ryan Seacrest 2023’.

The finalists have not traveled to New York for the past couple of years due to the Covid-19 pandemic, but this year they will all be invited for what promises to be a thrilling experience.

Previous Winners

This year’s winner will follow in the footsteps of Brian Mineweaser, from Pennsylvania, who won $1 million at the start of 2022. He described it as ‘so surreal’, and said the payout would help him put his four kids through college.

Back in 2021, Washington D.C.’s Carlos Mabry became the first Powerball millionaire of the year and promised to make several donations to good causes.

The first winner of the award was Maine man Blaine Marston in 2020, who had enjoyed a three-night VIP stay in New York City prior to the announcement.

Published: Tuesday, September 27, 2022